Prof. A. Jayaraman

Hon. Distinguished Faculty for Research, IARSc, Bangalore

Achuthan Jayaraman, a Doctorate in Atmospheric Sciences from Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), Ahmedabad is currently the Director of National Atmospheric Research Laboratory (NARL) Gadanki, an autonomous unit of Department of Space, Govt of India. In the last 30+ years of his career, Dr. Jayaraman has made fundamental contributions in furthering our understanding on atmospheric aerosols and their role in atmospheric radiation budget and radiative forcing of climate. He has proposed novel methods to obtain the stratospheric aerosol size distribution by measuring the scattered sky radiation using rocket and balloon borne photometers. He is also instrumental in developing the country’s first Nd:YAG backscatter lidar for obtaining the vertical profiles of aerosols in the tropo- and stratosphere. He found a new experimental method to derive the aerosol radiative forcing by conducting ship cruise experiments over the Indian Sea. He has extensively worked for the international project, INDOEX (Indian Ocean Experiment) and several national projects under the ISRO-GBP (Geosphere Biosphere Program). He has more than 140 publications in national and international journals. During 1988 to 1989 he worked as Guest Scientist at the Meteorology Institute, Munich Univ., Munich, Germany and from 1999 to 2000 he worked as Visiting Research Physicist, at the Scripps Institute of Oceanography, University California, San Diego, USA

Jayaraman is Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore. He is the recipient of the INSA Young Scientist award in 1988 and the PRL award in 2001. He has been awarded ISRO’s Merit Award 2010 and Performance Excellence Award 2015 for his significant contributions towards the growth of ISRO. He shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize awarded to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) as one of the lead authors of the IPCC’s Climate Change 2001. He is currently the Vice President of COSPAR (Committee on Space Research) Paris. He is the member of the Advisory Committee for Space, ISRO; Climate Change Green Systems Study Group, International Academy of Astronautics; ISRO-ESA Joint Working Group on Earth Observations. He is the Fellow of the Indian Geophysical Union and AP Academy of Sciences. He is currently the Vice President of the Indian Aerosol Science and Technology Association, BARC, Bombay and life member of Indian Laser Association, Indian Physics Association and India Meteorological Society.