Prof. Vasily N. Lykosso

Hon. Distinguished Faculty for Research, IARSc, Bangalore

Vasily N. Lykossov, a Doctorate in Physics & Mathematics from Novosibirsk Computer Centre, Novosibirsk in the year 1972 and Dr. of Science (Physics & Mathematics) since 1990, currently holds various positions as Principal Scientist at Institute for Numerical Mathematics (INM), Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS), Moscow; Head of the Laboratory and Professor at M.V. Lomonosov Moscow State University. He holds the Academic title as RAS Corresponding Member.

He served as Senior Scientist at INM, RAS, Moscow during 1982-1999, Head of Laboratory, West-Siberian Hydrometeorological Institute, Novosibirsk during 1979-1981 and Senior Scientist of the Computer Center of the Siberian Branch of the USSR Academy of Sciences, Novosibirsk during 1967-78. His research interests are Geophysical Hydrodynamics, Theory of Turbulence, Land Surface and Soil Hydrology, Climate and Climate Change.

Prof. Lykossov has developed a class of models of interacting boundary layers of the atmosphere and ocean, which allowed to investigate the anomaly characteristics of the interface state of these media; suggested original methods for parameterization of the atmospheric boundary layer in climate models; built a model to reproduce the hydrological and thermal regime of the land in different geographical conditions, including permafrost. He is co-developer of the INM climate model, which is chosen in the IPCC Program of climate models comparison. This model considers the active layer of the land and the three states of water in the snow cover including the phase transitions between them, which reproduced the geographical distribution and thermodynamic regime of permafrost. He has written 14 books (including chapters in collective monographs) on mathematical modelling in physics of the climate system and has several important publications in national and international journals.

He is recipient of Medal for Valorous Labour and State Prize of Russia. He is a member of American Meteorological Society and American Geophysical Union since 2001.