Dr. B N Suresh

Chairman, IPSTRA Programme Interphase Committee, IARSc , Bangalore

Dr. BN Suresh is presently, Chancellor, Indian Institute of Space science and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram and Honorary Distinguished Professor at ISRO HQ, Bangalore. He was President for Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), Delhi, a premier Engineering Academy of the Country for 4 years. He has contributed significantly in the area of Aerospace for the design and development of different Launch Vehicles of India. He was Director, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre for four and half years since 2003, took over as Founder Director for the newly established Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST) at Trivandrum in 2007. He has won more than 25 awards & honours and prominent among them are “Global Pioneer Award” by International Council of System Engineering at Washington, DC, USA, “2020 IEEE Simon Ramo Medal” for exceptional achievement in systems engineering and systems science by IEEE. In recognition of his meritorious contributions for Science and Technology, Govt. of India conferred on him “Padmasree” during the year 2002 and the third highest civilian Award “Padma Bhushan” during the year 2013.